Jacksonville Jaguars

Sporting News NFL awards 2016: Players of the year, All-Pro Team, more

Sporting News this week announced it’s annual NFL awards, voted upon by current players, coaches and executives throughout the league. SN’s 2016 All-Pro Team, voted upon by the league’s head coaches, also was announced.

SN has announced player awards since 1954, including Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year awards since 2012. SN’s Coach of the Year award has been announced since 1947.

Here are the award recipients and All-Pro Team for the 2016 NFL season.

(Editor’s note: SN’s Executive of the Year award will be announced and presented during the annual league meeting in March.)

Kaepernick was a second-round draft pick of the 49ers in 2011 and he’s just one example of Baalke’s failed picks. Others include Anthony Davis, LaMichael James, Tank Carradine, Marcus Martin, Brandon Thomas, A.J. Jenkins, Taylor Mays and Chris Culliver.

San Francisco’s roster is a mess, and, in the end, Baalke was the scapegoat for the team’s miserable 2016 season.

It didn’t surprise me, Baalke said. Weve done some awful good things. Some very successful seasons. Unfortunately regret we werent able to bring a championship to the Bay Area, which they so deserve. I think The Faithful has been great. Wish this organization nothing but the best moving forward. I do see a bright future for them.steelers_005

Leave a Reply